Can you work while in Nursing School? This post is written by guest writer Jillian Ward, 2nd year MEPN student

Jillian Ward at STTI

(Jillian Ward being inducted in Sigma Theta Tau with Dr. Ann Mayo)

To work, or not to work? This is a question many of us face while enrolled as MEPNs. As graduate students in a full-time intensive nursing program, we are encouraged by many to avoid working during our two years. As a second-year MEPN student who began working as a healthcare assistant at a local hospital this past September, I believe the decision to work is subjective. Since taking on an additional 12 to 24 hours of work per week, I find my schedule to be completely filled each day. However, through my busy schedule and long hours, I have found some meaningful insight.

My grandmother used to tell me, “The more you do, the more you can do.” I find that the busier I am, the more I strive to fill my day with intention and meaning. Working during the MEPN program has taught me the importance of managing my time, allocating my resources, and prioritizing each task I am faced with; all skills that are essential to the field of nursing. Most importantly, I find that with each busy day, I make a purpose to find time for self-care and reflection.

When deciding to apply for an additional job or a hospital externship while enrolled in the MEPN program, I must reiterate that the decision is something individualized and personal. For me, I am incredibly grateful that my job has given me an opportunity to expand my clinical experience and prepare me for the nursing world that lies ahead.

I’d love to hear your comments.

This entry was posted in 2014 Cohort info., Guest Writer, Mentor Program, Uncategorized, What is a MEPN program? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can you work while in Nursing School? This post is written by guest writer Jillian Ward, 2nd year MEPN student

  1. Sophie Hutchins says:

    Kathy, you do so well with this blog, filling it with wonderful insights and topics! Susie

    From: MEPN Program <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: MEPN Program <comment+zaionoddi0vo09n4zpw4j1@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Thursday, February 18, 2016 at 2:09 PM To: Susie Hutchins <shutchins@sandiego.edu> Subject: [New post] Can you work while in Nursing School? This post is written by guest writer Jillian Ward, 2nd year MEPN student

    kathymarsh posted: ” (Jillian Ward being inducted in Sigma Theta Tau with Dr. Ann Mayo) To work, or not to work? This is a question many of us face while enrolled as MEPNs. As graduate students in a full-time intensive nursing program, we are encouraged by many to avoid wo”

    Like

Leave a Reply

