MEPNs participate in InterProfessional Education (IPE)

Farrah examining pt

(First year MEPN, Fara Farshidfard examines SP while Bessie Coronado-Vigil collaborates with a medical student)

‘Participating in a team’ was the theme of the InterProfessional Education event held at UCSD last week. For the fourth year in a row, approximately 80 UCSD pharmacy students, 90 USD-MEPN students, and 100 UCSD medical students worked together to obtain a history on a standardized patient (SP), perform a physical exam, and determine if the SP could be discharged home, or required a higher level of care and thus needed to be transferred to the emergency department.

The learning objectives of the IPE were:

  1. Demonstrate ability to collaborate in an inter-professional team
  2. Demonstrate specific discipline knowledge in the interest of patient-centered care.

Below are a couple of comments from student participants.

RN student, Bessie: It was a great learning experience. It really increased my awareness of how I can work with team members to ensure the most optimal patient outcomes.

Pharmacy student, Brittany: I was really overwhelmed with the entire activity and I was so glad to be able to count on the nursing student to clarify what I needed to do so we could take care of the patient. At this point in my education, I have never worked with patients so the nursing student really helped me put the whole picture together.

Medical student, Michael: I have to admit, I really did not know all the things the nursing students know. I will definitely work hard at collaborating with my nursing colleagues when I move into my hospital rotations.

Throughout the MEPN curriculum, students work with SPs every semester to increase the ability to assess, plan, implement, and evaluate patient care in a controlled setting thereby increasing student’s ability to provide care to real patients in the hospital or community setting.

Sara B examining pt

(2nd year MEPN, Sara Berhe stabilizes the standard patient while collaborating with medical students)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MEPNs participate in InterProfessional Education (IPE)

  1. Linda D Urden says:

    Good one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

